Skip to Content

SBL Guild Awards Scholarships to Area Students

June 25, 2014 3:21 p.m.

Scholarships were recently awarded to 24 area students in health-related fields during Sarah Bush Lincoln Volunteer Guild’s annual scholarship reception.

The Guild awarded $25,000 in scholarships for the 2014-2015 academic year. Students receiving these scholarships are studying nursing, occupational therapy, dietetics, physical therapy, medicine, respiratory therapy, psychology, pharmacy, radiology, and speech pathology. The Guild has awarded more than $550,000 in scholarships since 1979. Funding for the scholarship program is provided through proceeds from The Gift Shop and La Grande Soirée.

Two others earned scholarships from the SBL Health Foundation. Eric Foster of Mattoon received the Vasudeo Shripad Joag Scholarship established by Dr. Kiran and Nandini Joag. He is a third year medical student at the University of Illinois College of Medicine, Chicago. Kimberly Helmkamp of Shelbyville, a fourth-year medical student (U of I Peoria), was awarded the Dr. C.D. Swickard Scholarship.

Scholarship recipients pictured are: (front, left to right) Lacey Jo Solomon (Mattoon), Charley Bailey (Windsor), Sydney Pankey (Casey), Hunter Farthing (Charleston), Kimberly Helmkamp (Shelbyville); (front, left to right) Shanti Goins (Mattoon), Jeremy Woodyard (Mattoon), Hayden Warner (Neoga), James Layton (Toledo), Gunnar Roling (Mattoon), Blake Richardson (Charleston), Lauren Buttram (Charleston), and Myranda Tabb (Arthur).

Students who received a scholarship but are not pictured are: Kelsey Batson (Lerna), Brock Bailey (Mattoon), Austin Beason (Mattoon), Alex Kastl (Effingham), Sarah Nolan (Mattoon), Geoffrey Ray (Marshall), Jenna Ruholl (Dieterich), Adam Schuler (Oglesby), Shelby Seaman (Mattoon), Anna Shelton (Effingham), Makenzie Ward (Albion), and April Wente (Watson).

Next: Sarah Bush Lincoln Named 2014 Most Wired Hospital

Currently Reading: SBL Guild Awards Scholarships to Area Students

Previous: Peace Meal Expands to Paris Cafe