Skip to Content
1000 Health Center Drive
(217) 258-2525
Respiratory Clinic at Mattoon Walk-In Clinic: Call for appointment: 217 238-3000.
The Effingham Walk-In Clinic is open from 10am to 8pm Monday-Friday.


SBL Nurses Awarded Scholarships During Reception

May 17, 2016 2:04 p.m.

Sarah Bush Lincoln recently honored several of its nurses during the SBL Health Foundation’s annual endowed nursing scholarship reception. Scholarships were awarded for the continuing education of nurses who have displayed outstanding compassion and concern for Health System patients during the past year.

Heather Smith, RN, was the recipient of the Dr. John J. Jemsek Award. The Jemsek Award is an annual award created by the medical staff, led by Dr. Leland McNeil, to honor the late Dr. Jemsek who practiced for more than 50 years.

Kristen Walk, RN, received the Mildred Seidel Perry Award. This award was created by Keith Perry, former SBL System Board member, in honor of his mother who was a nurse for more than six decades.                                                  

The Junie Longcor Award, created by Junie’s family, is awarded each year for the continuing education of a Regional Cancer Center nurse or staff member. This year’s award winner was Rachel Clark, RN, Regional Cancer Center.

Julie Kohlbecker, RN, Critical Care Unit, received the Li Shiang Chang Award. This award was created by the grandchildren of Li-Shiang Chang for the continuing education of a Critical Care Nurse.


First photo:

Kristen Walk, recipient of the Mildred Seidel Perry Award

Second photo:

Rachel Clark, recipient of the Junie Longcor/Cancer Center Award


Next: Lakeview Students Donate to SBL Regional Cancer Center

Currently Reading: SBL Nurses Awarded Scholarships During Reception

Previous: SBL Tuscola Clinic Opens May 31