Skip to Content

Swensen Family Donates to SBL Hospice House

May 26, 2022 12:54 p.m.

  • swensen, hospice house, sbl

Spencer and Jennifer Swensen of Charleston and Kirk and Margie Swensen of Mattoon together donated $20,000 to the new Sarah Bush Lincoln Hospice House. A plaque recognizing them for their donation in honor of Spencer & Jennifer’s daughter, Delaney, will be placed at the entrance of a private patient suite.


Construction on the $8 million house will begin this summer. The SBL Health Foundation, together with a campaign committee, is raising $1 million to help offset costs of construction and $1.5 million to fund an endowment through a campaign called: The Most Important Home You’ll Ever Build. While most insurance companies pay for care in a hospice house, they don’t pay room and board. Earnings from the endowment will be used to help those who struggle to pay for their stay.


“We’re so appreciative of the Swensen family for this generous donation,” Ron Diepholz, President of Diepholz Auto Group and a member of the Hospice House Campaign Committee, said. “They’re awesome community leaders and this donation is just another example of the many ways they help others.” The hospice house will be ideal for those at the end of their lives and their families who prefer that deaths occur in a home-like setting, when home isn’t an option. The Sarah Bush Lincoln Hospice House will also offer respite care, a place for primary at-home caregivers to bring their loved one when they need a break.


“Hospice touches every family at some point, and when we heard about plans for Sarah Bush Lincoln to build a hospice house, we knew we wanted to participate,” Jennifer Swensen said. “To have a hand in bringing comfort to families as they go through a very emotional time is important to us, and it’s a way to honor our beautiful daughter Delaney.”


For more information about the SBL Hospice House, or to make a donation, contact Amy Card at [email protected] or 217-258-2511, or a member of the campaign committee: Kyle Banks, Vanessa Banks, Ann Beck, Dr. Lucas Catt, Ron Diepholz, Joe Dively, Scott Eggleston, Mike Genta, Tom Grunloh, Barbara Hall, John Inyart, Carla Jackson, Jay Markwell, Tracey McCord, Dr. Louis Schwing, Michael Smith, Debbie Sparks, and Tony Sparks.




Next: SBL Donates Sunscreen to Area Pools

Currently Reading: Swensen Family Donates to SBL Hospice House

Previous: Roberts Receives Daisy Award