Skip to Content

SBL Health Foundation Award Scholarships

May 22, 2023 2:11 p.m.

Several SBL employees recently received scholarship awards through the Sarah Bush Lincoln Health Foundation. Donors funded endowments, whereby earnings are used each year to award scholarships to SBL employees furthering their educations. The recipients include:

Julie Taber, Case Manager, and Chase Bosler, Care Partner, who received the Dr. Stan & Maggie Huffman Award. This award was created by Dr. Stan Huffman for any SBL employee who wants to go to school to become a nurse, or to further their nursing degree. Dr. Huffman cared for patients for many years in the community and served on the SBL Health Foundation board.

Taber has been a nurse for 30 years, and after completing her Case Management certification, she currently attends Western Governors University to complete her bachelor of science in Nursing. Bosler is currently finishing his associate degree in the RN program at Lake Land College, and he plans to finish his BSN at Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville with the hopes of ultimately becoming a nurse practitioner.

Brett Berger received the Li-Shiang Chang Award. This award was established by grandchildren of Li-Shiang Chang as a way to show gratitude for the care their loved one received in Critical Care Unit. It’s for education for ICU nurses.

Berger recently graduated from nursing school, and he is already planning to enroll at SIU-E to complete his BSN.

Rena Herschberger, Office Assistant, received the Junie Longcor Award. This endowment was funded by retired employee Gary Longcor in honor of his wife, Junie, who passed away from cancer. He was so thankful for the wonderful care she received in the Regional Cancer Center, that he created this award for any Regional Cancer Center employee for education. Herschberger plans to continue her education and attain her nursing degree.

Dana Ruholl, RN, received the Dr. John Jemsek Award. It was established by colleagues of Dr. Jemsek in honor of his career when he passed away after 50 years of practice in Mattoon. Ruholl plans to further her education to provide even better care to patients in the future.

Sara Hancock, RN, and Mallory Bollander, RN, received the Mildred Sidell Perry Nursing Award. This award was established by former SBL Health System board member Keith Perry in honor of his mother’s 60-year nursing career. Any SBL nurse may be nominated for this educational award.

Hancock plans to enroll in the advanced practice degree program at Chamberlain University, aspiring to become a nurse practitioner in cardiology. Bolander is currently the nurse navigator at the SBL Surgery Center, and she plans to further her education by pursuing an advanced degree.

Taylor Johnson, RN, was awarded the Dr. James Van Popering Award. This award was created by former SBL Gastroenterologist Dr. Van Popering, who created it to assist nurses in the Gastroenterology Clinic who continue their education. SBL Gastroenterologist Alexis Ayonote, MD, also contributed to the award.

Johnson is currently working toward her master of science in Nursing, planning to become a nurse practitioner. She will also pursue her GI certification.

For more information about the scholarships, please contact Amy Card, SBL Health Foundation director, at 217-258-2511.



Next: Samantha Pearcy Receives Annual SBL Bravo! President’s Award

Currently Reading: SBL Health Foundation Award Scholarships

Previous: SBL Assumes Operations of EIU Student Medical Clinic